Theelen House Discover the story of Limburg’s most famous newspaper!

Theelen House is located in a former canon house. These residences formed a separate neighbourhood in the city until the end of the 18th century and accommodated the canons who ran the chapter of the Basilica of Our Lady. Founder-publisher Nicolaas Theelen had his printing business here and published ‘Het Algemeen Belang der Provincie Limburg’, the precursor of the newspaper ‘Het Belang van Limburg’, between 1890 and 1918.
A small part of the original canon house has survived to this very day. We’ve called it ‘Theelen House’.
Theelen House contains a (small) museum about the history of ‘Het Belang van Limburg’ and the Theelen and Baert families. The museum is not accessible to individual visitors but the façade offers a good view of the inside.